How the Spanish say ‘I love you’

Today’s linguistic gem comes from the Spanish language. I learnt the other day that the Spanish have two ways to say ‘I love you’.

The first way is ‘Te queiro’ which can be used to say ‘I like you’ or ‘I love you’. The second is ‘Te amo’ which is just ‘I love you’.

So what is the difference? A bit of googling has revealed that ‘Te quiero’ is a broad ‘I love you’ that can be said towards your partner, spouse, friends, family etc. ‘Te amo’ is reserved for your intimate relationships, your lover, and likely said behind closed doors.

I find it fascinating how so many other languages have different phrases/words that apply in different situations, whether formal or informal, or being said to a male or a female. Makes you realise how ‘simple’ the English language is!

Leave a Reply

