Portugal Holiday 2013

Well I have just returned from a 10-day holiday in the beautiful Algarve region in Portimao, Portugal. Myself and a few friends decided to rent an apartment and soak up the rays by the pool and the beach. We hit the town a few nights and run into quite a few people that we had met last year in a great bar overlooking the beach, On The Rocks. The local food was amazing too. I don’t know what it is but all of the food there just tastes better than here in England! Well….store bought stuff anyways.

It is such a beautiful part of the world down there. The people are so friendly and life is seriously laid back. I can’t wait to go back there. I have been learning the language for about a year now and actually having to use it was great. Even though some people I spoke to could tell I wasn’t that brilliant they still knew what I meant and showed their appreciation for my efforts with a smile. I can really see that they genuinely appreciate it when you make an effort to speak their language.

I am hoping to make my way back there in about 8-9 months where I plan on living for a year travelling around doing volunteer type work on organic farms and permaculture sites. From the minor research I have conducted there are numerous eco-communities living self-sustainably, growing their own food and harnessing their own energy promoting the principles of permaculture. I would love nothing more than to spend time in these amazing communities learning the language and living with the land.

There was another amazing thing that stood out to me whilst I was there. Our apartment was in a rather bland and monotonous holiday resort. All of the apartments and villas looks the same and the plant life was very ordinary and mostly ornamental. One morning, whilst my friends were still sleeping I decided to go for a walk through a very local-looking area, just roaming the streets, passing Portuguese locals saying “Bom Dia” and smiling. I noticed that 9/10 of the locals gardens contained fruit. Everything from Apples, Figs, Grapes, Lemons, Limes and Oranges. I thought this was amazing. Everywhere you would look there were healthy bunches of grapes and the most orange oranges I have ever seen.

Leave a Reply

