Don’t look away just yet! Love is coming…

The following quote is from a movie called Stardust. It is a beautiful and funny film with a great cast including Robert De Niro, Claire Danes, Charlie Cox and Michelle Pfeiffer.

This quote comes from a scene quite late in the film where Claire Danes’ character is confessing her love to Charlie Cox’s character who is currently a mouse…

You know when I said I knew Iittle about Iove?
Well, that wasn’t true.
I know a Iot about Iove.
I’ve seen it.
I’ve seen centuries and centuries of it.
And it was the only thing that made watching your world bearable.
AII those wars. Pain and Iies. Hate.
Made me want to turn away and never Iook down again.
But to see the way that mankind Ioves.
I mean, you could search the furthest reaches of the universe and never find anything more beautiful.
So, yes, I know that Iove is unconditional.
But I also know it can be unpredictable, unexpected, uncontrollable, unbearable and, well, strangely easy to mistake for Ioathing.
And what I’m trying to say, Tristan, is I think I Iove you.
My heart, it feels Iike my chest can barely contain it.
Like it doesn’t belong to me anymore.
It belongs to you.
And if you wanted it, I’d wish for nothing in exchange.
No gifts, no goods, no demonstrations of devotion.
Nothing but knowing you Iove me, too.
Just your heart in exchange for mine.

I think that it is all too easy to lose faith and hope when you concentrate on the bad side of anything, but you can completely turn that around by looking at the good, the love, the community, the support, etc that can be seen when you look for it. The more I learn about how destructive our society is to the environment, and learn of the damage that we have inflicted on some of our most beautiful landscapes, as well as the damage and suffering we allow to happen to fellow humans in the name of profits, I often feel a little over-whelmed to be honest. I find myself thinking what the point is in trying to oppose it, I mean, I couldn’t possibly have enough influence to save the world from these ingrained behaviours. How can I possibly save the environment or turn the lives of poverty-stricken communities around? But then I think about all the people out there who are trying to make a difference and this empowers me because I realise that I am not alone, I am joining a much larger, and ever-growing force that will ultimately have a hugely positive, and profound impact on the world. Through the wars, the riots, the destruction and the poverty there is love, there is unity and there is change. Focus on the good and it will multiply.

If you haven’t seen Stardust I can highly recommend it. It is certainly in my top ten of mushy chick-flicks.

Leave a Reply

