The Dark Side – My Journey to Empowered Purpose Week 3

We are only ever one context away from a breakthrough!

– George Helou

In the interest of remaining transparent and truthful about my EP7 experience I must confess that I am struggling. As much as George tells us all to not judge ourselves too harshly I still find myself beating myself up over the realisations I am having about my behaviour and beliefs in the areas of my life that I feel I am lacking. The personal assessment work and the deconstruction of disempowering ideas is revealing a great deal more than I had expected to find but it is only through awareness of the things holding us back that we can start to ‘re-imagine’ a different outcome. And this is the point of the program thus far; know your biological potential to be outstanding, understand where you are now, and then, Step 3: Imagination, is about identifying your ability to re-imagine an alternate destiny more in line with your desires.

Down, but not out…

I feel like I have certainly opened up to another side of my being…I am going to call it the ‘Dark Side’! Not a Star Wars reference, more a metaphor for the dark side of the moon, unseen, kept in darkness, but it is a part of the whole moon nonetheless. The Personal Assessment process is revealing a number of beliefs that aren’t really conducive to desirable quality experiences and I am starting to realise that things don’t have to be that way any longer. With the use of my imagination I have the power to think beyond my current beliefs and ‘re-imagine’ something new. The only little obstacle I am currently facing is myself; I have to stop judging myself and start to look, and think, beyond the current version of myself.

We are always imagining a ‘version’ of reality!

Our beliefs are nothing more than a series of ideas, or ‘filters’ through which we interpret the information coming in. It was incredibly useful for me to visualise a series of hanging hoops, with me on one end, and the rest of the world on the other. As I am looking through these hoops, each hoop being a different idea, they all influence how I am seeing the world at the end. Personal Assessment helps us to identify each individual hoop and our imagination allows us to substitute these hoops, ideas, with other, better-serving, ideas completely transforming how we perceive the world. We can re-imagine another version of reality!

Imagination is a preview of life’s coming attractions.

– Albert Einstein

It sounds way too easy but despite some resistance it is starting to seem pretty logical to me. I know that the resistance I am feeling is of my own creation fuelled by my own judgements and my pre-conditioning. In order to allow my imagination to take the reins and and re-imagine a version of reality more in tune with my heart I have to detach and allow what is to be, without judgement or criticism. Only then, with patience and clear intention, can I begin to re-imagine and create more empowering relationships and situations.


If you missed week 1 or week 2 read about it here > Biologically Infinite, Neurologically Limited – My Journey to Empowered Purpose Week 1 and Fork in the Road, Point of no Return – My Journey to Empowered Purpose Week 2


For more information about the Empowered for Purpose program visit http://www.lifecoachperth.com and http://www.mindpowercoach.com.

4 thoughts on “The Dark Side – My Journey to Empowered Purpose Week 3

  1. Pingback: That gut feeling… – My Journey to Empowered Purpose Week 4 | The Sofa Surfa

  2. Pingback: It’s all about Purpose – My Journey to Empowered Purpose Week 5 | The Sofa Surfa

  3. Pingback: Prioritise Purpose – My Journey to Empowered Purpose Week 6 | The Sofa Surfa

  4. Pingback: Your Sacred Space – My Journey to Empowered Purpose Week 7 | The Sofa Surfa

Leave a Reply

